Daily Prompt 2: For Helen; Que Sera Sera

I grew up spending the summer with my cousins at my grandparents’ house. We play fun games. I remember being Hermione once when we played Harry Potter. We would pick up sticks as if they’re wands. Along with Harry Potter, Survivor Lolo’s Filthy Pond Edition, Tekken and Super Mario, I can always clearly recall the bests of Sundays—the radio.

Que Sera Sera was one of those songs that my grandmother liked to sing along when it plays on the radio. I never knew how I learned about it. It’s one of those songs that you grew up with, the ones you never knew you know every word of it until the moment you hear it again after a long time.

My lola died years ago. It was the first time I saw death before my eyes. The people I always saw laughing at everything cry. Strangely as it may seem, it really fascinated me. It was sad, but I saw how beautiful her life was. I thought I want that. She’s surrounded with so much love and even until now, although back when I was little I never knew that there’s going to be a day that I will lose the people I love like how I see them on TV or that I will carry that vision up to this date, that memory of my grandmother was nothing special, it was just one of those ordinary days but I can never not picture her singing along to Que Sera Sera. I would always look at her and even now I still see her inside my head mimicking along microscopically with that green duster on that she liked to wear as if it just happened this afternoon. I never knew back then that it’s going to be so precious and that I’m going to be so thankful to remember something not-so groundbreaking.

Que Sera Sera whatever will be will be.

What a beautiful song. What a wonderful saying. And although I don’t plan to live like it says, it will always be a picturesque memory in my heart.

Leave a Reply

